Baking in a Foreign Kitchen is Hard

I knew baking in a French kitchen would be a challenge, what with their different measurements and different products etc.  I mean really, who doesn’t use cups and tablespoons? This is a civilized country! Also, a typical measurement in a french recipe is a “Cuillere du Soupe,” which means a soupspoon.  There is no official measure for a soupsoon.  It is just a spoon that you use to eat soup with.
Also baking powder does not exist here.  I found a translation, “levure chimique,” which means chemical yeast.  I asked my host family and they looked at me like I was crazy.  Which they do a lot, due to my weird American habits like eating breakfast in my pajamas and sleeping in late on sundays.
Just to make things a little more interesting, my host family has very…particular eating habits for les francais.  My host father is diabetic, which means he cannot eat things with a lot of sugar.  Which is too bad cause I like to make things with a lot of sugar. Then my host mother and host sister are constantly on “regimes,” aka diets, which means that all our butter, cheese, and yogurt is reduced fat.  And I’ve never seen chocolate in the house, nor white carbs.  Oh well, new experiences are good right?
My first baking experiment here was a complete and utter failure.  I tried to make a lemon yogurt cake, cause lemons and yogurt is healthy right?  I reduced the sugar, used the only oil in the house (olive) and omitted the baking powder and soda (which also doesnt exist, except weirdly for toothbrushing?).  Result: something that was sort of like unsweetened lemon jello slab?  The host family tried it, tried to say how good it was while stealthily palming it into their napkins.  Then the rest disappeared the next morning.  Maybe someone ate it all for a midnight snack? A girl can dream.
Oh yeah, forgot to mention that ovens are obviously celcius not farenheit here.  God when is Europe going to get on board with Farenheit!

One thought on “Baking in a Foreign Kitchen is Hard

  1. Entertaining commentary on groceries in the French markets and cooking in your French family’s kitchen. I am picturing you there!
    On a side note, Bubba will surely miss his buddy next week. Whatever will he do?

Leave a Reply

