Catherine Battles the French Kitchen: Part Deux

I am happy to say try two turned out much better! When Rachel visited we made a very successful apple galette, but it wasn’t that good as it had not sugar and half-fat butter.  But the host fam seemed pleased!
Last week I’d had an extremely long day with TWO classes AND a meeting with my language partner, which is always fun but exhausting, and so on the way home I bought real butter (mmmmmmmmm), real sugar, and a bar of chocolate.

Of course that night was the night that power cost a lot, so I wasn’t allowed to bake until after 10 pm. No biggie, since I had to stay up for room draw at 2am.  Suzy Hopkins wooooooooo. So around midnight I snuck down to the kitchen and put the oven on to 218.333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333 degrees celcius, aka 425 farenheit.  Obvi I let Asky in the kitchen with me, because he is the cutest thing in the universe and who can say no to those eyes, even if he smells like dead fish mixed with feet.

That morning I’d been inspired by binge eating six madeleines (they come in packs of six okay? geez) from this local guy at the market that makes only madeleines.  You wonder how he makes a living, then you realize the madeleines are the most f*%&ing delicious thing in the world. Fo serious. Here is a pic if you don’t believe me (they were praline flavored)

Yeah the picture is very orange, whatever.
So as obviously my anti-baking host family did not have madeleine pans like some baking-obsessed freaks do (thank you santa, 2010!) I knew I was going to have to improvise.

 But if something has brown butter, almond powder, and dark chocolate, it really cannot be bad. cannot.

I loosely followed a recipe I found on the food blog CannelleetVanille.  Cause its name is in la francais!

I added a tablespoon of vanilla,used cane sugar instead of white sugar, omitted the baking powder (though you should not do this!)

…then added chopped dark chocolate. Cause I love it more than I like a lot of people.

…and baked the whole thing in a loaf pan, which meant that after I reduced the temperature (after the batter splits on top) it cooked for about 40 minutes (when a toothpick comes out clean), instead of the 5 minutes for cute little petite madeleines.

  And TA DAAAA!!!!!!!!

                            OK it may not look like this:

but give me a break, kay?

Even though this wasn’t baked under the most ideal circumstances (1 am in a foreign kitchen trying not to make a noise, hollaaa), it still got devoured in five minutes when I brought it to my program center.  Either it wasn’t too bad or these American kiddos just have no standards.

Recipe
Orange and Brown Butter Madeleines

6 eggs
250 grams sugar
Zest of 1 orange
2 tsp vanila extract
225 grams cake flour, sifted
110 grams almond flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
250 grams butter, browned and cooled

Start by making the brown butter. Place the butter in small saucepan and heat until it starts to bubble and sizzle. Watch it closely as it will start to brown soon after the sizzle diminishes slightly. When it smells like roasted nuts and the bottom of the pan is brown, remove the pan from the heat, strain the butter and let it cool.

Place the eggs, sugar, orange zest and vanilla extract in the bowl of an electric mixer. Whip until light and thick, about 5 minutes. Add the flour, almond flour, salt and baking powder. Mix until all the dry ingredients have been incorporated. Slowly add the brown butter as the machine is running. Let butter incorporate into the batter and continue adding it.

Remove bowl from mixer and fold with a spatula to make sure all ingredients are well mixed. Let it rest in the refrigerator for 4 hours.

Pipe batter into madeleine molds. Bake at 425 for 8-10 minutes (when “bumps have appeared), reduce oven to 375F and continue baking for 5 more or until browned.

bonus: a (ok, two) super cute picture(s) of asky.  I tried to play ball with him with the orange I zested but he was just not interested. HOW CUTE IS THAT FACE???

Leave a Reply

