…and the buttermilk tart

Here I go, following through on the lofty promises I made last post.

My host mother Geraldine said that she loved lemon tarts, and I had some buttermilk leftover from the Strawberry Cake (see previous posts,) so I decided to fuse the two and go for a southern classic: buttermilk pie.

Obviously as I was in France it would be a tart, not a pie.  Because pies do not exist there.

I made the dough, following http://joythebaker.com/‘s awesome foolproof recipe which also, conveniently, contains buttermilk! If you are scared of pie/tart dough, I understand. It’s scary.  Maybe even scarier than the ghost tour I took in Edinburgh…ah who am I kidding, that was really freaking scary.

The secret is to keep all the ingredients (butter, flour, (butter)milk, ice water) cold, and to chill the dough for a few hours before use. And using plenty of flour to keep the dough from sticking when you’re rolling it out. Easy peasy pie! (or tart. haha)

As my host family didn’t have a rolling pin, because that would be too easy, I used a Centrum vitamin bottle to flatten the dough.  My host sister Chloe helped out by decorating the flour.

Roll it out, and…

Ta dah!!! Nice pretty pie dough.

No need to butter the pie pan, there’s PLENTY of butter in the dough.  Prick the bottom with a fork and crimp the edges to make it pretty pretty.

Bake in a 350 degree over for about 15 minutes, til things start getting nice and browned. Then take out and let cool. This is called “blind baking,” aka baking the crust before  you put the filling in.

Here we are getting ready to go in the oven

And here it is finished! Wait to take it out until the top gets all carmelized and brown and bubbly. Mmmmm

Look who was in the kitchen with me!!

Here’s the feast my host mother lovingly prepared my last night in Aix!  Niko sushi.  A teenage boy on a moto delivered it, and I had to answer the door  as he was yet another one of Chloe’s ex boyfriends. Classic.

For the first time, EVERY crumb was eaten.

2 thoughts on “…and the buttermilk tart

Leave a Reply

